Syncing GitHub Accounts

Capabilities #

The GitHub integration offers all functionality that RoleUp supports, listing accounts and memberships, adding and removing accounts, and updating memberships.

Requirements #

The account that provides OAuth authorization must have an admin or owner role within GitHub, or the integration will not function as expected.

Setup #

  1. To create a new GitHub integration, start here.
  2. By default the GitHub integration requests Read/Write permissions, but can be configured as Read-Only.
  3. Click Add to be sent through the OAuth flow. Once you’ve authorized RoleUp, the accounts will begin syncing.

Onboarding #

The integration cannot create GitHub accounts, but can invite them to join the connected GitHub organization. Provide the username of the new user, and select the GitHub org you’d like to add them to.

Optionally, you can also add them to a GitHub team.

The new user will receive an email that invites them to join the GitHub organization.

You may receive errors if the user already exists in your org, or if the user who created the GitHub integration does not have an owner or admin role.

Offboarding #

To remove an account from GitHub:

  1. Click the Offboard toggle in the top right of the Identities page
  2. Click the Remove button next to the user you to wish remove from GitHub
  3. Their account will immediately lose access to the integrated GitHub account

Updating Memberships #

RoleUp offers the ability to update GitHub org roles and memberships, as well as update team roles and memberships.

Removing the Integration #

  1. Go to the integrations list, or click here.
  2. Click the Edit button on the GitHub integration you wish to remove.
  3. At the bottom of the integration configuration page, you may click the Remove Permanently button to remove the integration, all of it’s associated data on RoleUp systems, and revoke OAuth permissions.
  4. If you wish to reinstall the GitHub integration at a later time, just add the integration back and everything should return to how it was after the accounts are synced

Powered by BetterDocs