Syncing GitLab Accounts

Capabilities #

The GitLab integration offers all functionality that RoleUp supports, listing accounts and memberships, adding and removing accounts, and updating memberships.

Requirements #

The account that provides OAuth authorization must have an admin or owner role within GitLab, or the integration will not function as expected.

Setup #

  1. To create a new GitLab integration, start here.
  2. By default the GitLab integration requests Read/Write permissions, but can be configured as Read-Only.
  3. Click Add to be sent through the OAuth flow. Once you’ve authorized RoleUp, the accounts will begin syncing.

Onboarding #

The integration cannot create GitLab accounts, but can invite them to join the connected GitLab groups and projects. Provide the username of the new user, and select the GitLab project/group you’d like to add them to.

The new user will receive an email that invites them to join the GitLab project/group.

You may receive errors if the user already exists in your project/group, or if the user who created the GitLab integration does not have an owner or admin role.

Offboarding #

To remove an account from GitLab:

  1. Click the Offboard toggle in the top right of the Identities page
  2. Click the Remove button next to the user you to wish remove from GitLab
  3. Their account will immediately lose access to the integrated GitLab account

Updating Memberships #

RoleUp offers the ability to update GitLab group memberships and roles, as well as update project memberships and roles.

Removing the Integration #

  1. Go to the integrations list, or click here.
  2. Click the Edit button on the GitLab integration you wish to remove.
  3. At the bottom of the integration configuration page, you may click the Remove Permanently button to remove the integration, all of it’s associated data on RoleUp systems, and revoke OAuth permissions.
  4. If you wish to reinstall the GitLab integration at a later time, just add the integration back and everything should return to how it was after the accounts are synced.

Powered by BetterDocs