Syncing Google Apps Accounts

Capabilities #

The Google Apps integration offers all of the functionality that RoleUp supports; listing accounts and memberships, adding and removing accounts, and updating group memberships. 

Requirements #

The Google Apps integration requires admin permissions to install.

Setup #

  1. To create a new Google Apps integration, start here.
  2. By default the Google Apps integration requests Read/Write permissions, but can be configured as Read-Only.
  3. Click Add to be sent through the OAuth flow. Once you’ve authorized RoleUp, the accounts will begin syncing.

Onboarding #

Google Apps accounts may be created through RoleUp by providing the first and last name, email address, password, and org unit of the new user. We do not retain the password after the account is created, and it is required to reset it after first use.

The email must be a domain configured in Google Apps, and the password must meet the requirements configured in Google Apps.

Optionally, you can provide a secondary email, or a phone number. 

The new user can log in with the credentials just used to create the account and will need to provide a new password.

Offboarding #

To remove an account from Google Apps:

  1. Click the Offboard toggle in the top right of the Identities page
  2. Click the Remove button next to the user you to wish remove from Google Apps
  3. Their account will immediately lose access to the integrated Google Apps organization

Updating Memberships #

Accounts can be added and removed from groups, and have their group role modified.

Removing the Integration #

  1. Go to the integrations list, or click here.
  2. Click the Edit button on the Google Apps integration you wish to remove.
  3. At the bottom of the integration configuration page, you may click the Remove Permanently button to remove the integration, all of it’s associated data on RoleUp systems, and revoke OAuth permissions.
  4. If you wish to reinstall the Google Apps integration at a later time, just add the integration back and everything should return to how it was after the accounts are synced.

Powered by BetterDocs