Our NPM integration allows you to onboard and offboard NPM accounts from the RoleUp dashboard.

The NPM integration offers all functionality that RoleUp supports, listing accounts and memberships, adding and removing accounts, and updating memberships.


Requirements for the NPM Integration

The account that provides the API key must have an admin or owner role within NPM, or the integration will not function as expected.


Setup for the NPM Integration

  1. To create a new NPM integration, start here.
  2. By default the NPM integration requests Read/Write permissions, but can be configured as Read-Only.
  3. Go to npmjs.com and create an API token for use with RoleUp, then paste it into the API key field
  4. Add the NPM organizations you wish to sync with RoleUp. One org name per field.
  5. Click Add to create the integration and begin syncing the accounts.

Onboarding for the NPM Integration

The integration cannot create NPM accounts, but can invite them to join the connected NPM organization. Provide the username of the new user, and select the NPM orgs and teams you’d like to add them to.

The new user will receive an email that invites them to join the NPM organization.

You may receive errors if the user already exists in your org, or if the user who created the NPM integration does not have an owner or admin role.


Offboarding for the NPM Integration

To remove an account from NPM:

  1. Click the Offboard toggle in the top right of the Users page
  2. Click the Remove button next to the user you to wish remove from NPM
  3. Their account will immediately lose access to the integrated NPM account

Updating Memberships for the NPM Integration

RoleUp offers the ability to update NPM org roles and memberships, as well as update team memberships.


Removing the NPM Integration

  1. Go to the integrations list, or click here.
  2. Click the Edit button on the NPM integration you wish to remove.
  3. At the bottom of the integration configuration page, you may click the Remove Permanently button to remove the integration, all of it’s associated data on RoleUp systems, and delete copies of API keys.
  4. If you wish to reinstall the NPM integration at a later time, just add the integration back and everything should return to how it was after the accounts are synced.