Syncing PagerDuty Accounts

Capabilities #

The PagerDuty integration offers almost all functionality that RoleUp supports; listing accounts and memberships, adding and removing accounts. It cannot currently update roles, team roles, or team memberships, but this is likely to be included in the future.

Requirements #

PagerDuty integrations require an Admin base role for OAuth authorization. If you do not have this role, please reach out to an Admin or Account Owner within your organization to configure the integration.

Offboarding may only be possible for certain PagerDuty pricing plans. Please see PagerDuty documentation to see if your plan has this feature.

Setup #

  1. To create a new PagerDuty integration, start here.
  2. By default the PagerDuty integration requests Read/Write permissions, but can be configured as Read-Only.
  3. Click Add to be sent through the OAuth flow. Once you’ve authorized RoleUp, the accounts will begin syncing.

Onboarding #

PagerDuty accounts may be created through RoleUp by providing the name, email address, and password of the new user. We do not retain the password after the account is created, but it’s strongly recommended to reset it after first use.

The new user will receive an email from PagerDuty inviting them to join PagerDuty, and they can log in with the credentials just used to create the account.

You may receive errors if the email already exists in your account, or if the user who created the PagerDuty integration does not have an Admin or Account Owner role.

Offboarding #

To remove an account from PagerDuty:

  1. Click the Offboard toggle in the top right of the Identities page
  2. Click the Remove button next to the user you to wish remove from PagerDuty
  3. Their account will immediately lose access to the integrated PagerDuty account

Removing the Integration #

  1. Go to the integrations list, or click here.
  2. Click the Edit button on the PagerDuty integration you wish to remove.
  3. At the bottom of the integration configuration page, you may click the Remove Permanently button to remove the integration, all of it’s associated data on RoleUp systems, and revoke OAuth permissions.
  4. If you wish to reinstall the PagerDuty integration at a later time, just add the integration back and everything should return to how it was after the accounts are synced.

Powered by BetterDocs