Syncing Slack Accounts

Capabilities #

The Slack integration for RoleUp can list all Slack accounts in a team, list all public and private channels, list all groups, update channel memberships, and update group memberships.

Currently the Slack integration does not allow adding, removing, or enabling/disabling accounts, though it’s possible this functionality will be added in the future.

Requirements #

The account that is used to complete the OAuth flow and add the Slack integration should ideally be the owner account. The integration will only have the same access and permissions as the authenticating user.

Setup #

  1. To create a new Slack integration, start here.
  2. By default the Slack integration requests Read/Write permissions, but can be configured as Read-Only
  3. Click Add to be sent through the OAuth flow. Once you’ve authorized RoleUp, the accounts will begin syncing.

Onboarding #

Currently it is not possible to create new Slack account using RoleUp directly. 

However, all of the information required to create an account can be requested from the end user, saved as a pending account, and then used to manually create a Slack account using the Slack User Management link.

Offboarding #

Currently it is not possible to remove Slack accounts from with RoleUp. However, RoleUp provides links to the Slack User Management page to remove them manually.

Updating Memberships #

RoleUp offers the ability to add and remove accounts from Groups and Channels within Slack.

You can edit memberships by clicking “Manage” on any non-pending account in the identities list.

Removing the Integration #

  1. Go to the integrations list, or click here.
  2. Click the Edit button on the Slack integration you wish to remove.
  3. At the bottom of the integration configuration page, you may click the Remove Permanently button to remove the integration, all of it’s associated data on RoleUp systems, and revoke OAuth permissions (if possible).
  4. If you wish to reinstall the Slack integration at a later time, just add the integration back and everything should return to how it was after the accounts are synced.

Last updated on Nov 3, 2020

Powered by BetterDocs