Syncing Trello Accounts

Capabilities #

The Trello integration offers all functionality that RoleUp supports, listing accounts and memberships, adding and removing accounts, and updating memberships.

One caveat is that Trello does not allow API calls to read other users details (email, avatar, 2FA staus) and so only the usernames are visible on the synced accounts.

Setup #

  1. To create a new Trello integration, start here.
  2. By default the Trello integration requests Read/Write permissions, but can be configured as Read-Only.
  3. You must specify the Trello team names you wish to sync. Specifically it is the short name, visible in the URL when you view the team page. In the image below, the short name would be “xtrct”
  4. Click Add to be sent through the OAuth flow. Once you’ve authorized RoleUp, the accounts will begin syncing.

Onboarding #

The integration cannot create Trello accounts, but can invite them to join the connected Trello teams. Provide the name, email, and the teams you’d like to add them to.

The new user will receive an email that invites them to Trello teams you’ve selected.

Offboarding #

To remove an account from Trello:

  1. Click the Offboard toggle in the top right of the Identities page
  2. Click the Remove button next to the user you to wish remove from Trello
  3. Their account will immediately lose access to the integrated Trello account

Updating Memberships #

RoleUp offers the ability to update Trello team roles and memberships, as well as update board roles and memberships.

Removing the Integration #

  1. Go to the integrations list, or click here.
  2. Click the Edit button on the Trello integration you wish to remove.
  3. At the bottom of the integration configuration page, you may click the Remove Permanently button to remove the integration, all of it’s associated data on RoleUp systems, and revoke OAuth permissions.
  4. If you wish to reinstall the Trello integration at a later time, just add the integration back and everything should return to how it was after the accounts are synced.

Powered by BetterDocs