Capabilities

The Zendesk integration offers all functionality that RoleUp supports, listing accounts and memberships, adding and removing accounts, and updating memberships.

Requirements

The account that provides OAuth authorization must have an admin or owner role within Zendesk, or the integration will not function as expected.

Setup

  1. To create a new Zendesk integration, start here.
  2. By default the Zendesk integration requests Read/Write permissions, but can be configured as Read-Only.
  3. Provide the subdomain of your Zendesk account.
  4. Click Add to be sent through the OAuth flow. Once you’ve authorized RoleUp, the accounts will begin syncing.

Onboarding

To create a new Zendesk account with RoleUp, provide the name, email, and role of the new account. 

Optionally, you may also add a phone number.

Once created, the user will receive an email inviting them to your Zendesk organization where they can set a password and log in.

You may receive errors if the user already exists in your org, or if the user who created the Zendesk integration does not have an owner or admin role.

Offboarding

To remove an account from Zendesk:

  1. Click the Offboard toggle in the top right of the Identities page
  2. Click the Remove button next to the user you to wish remove from Zendesk
  3. Their account will immediately lose access to the integrated Zendesk account

Updating Memberships

RoleUp offers the ability to update Zendesk organization and group memberships.

Removing the Integration

  1. Go to the integrations list, or click here.
  2. Click the Edit button on the Zendesk integration you wish to remove.
  3. At the bottom of the integration configuration page, you may click the Remove Permanently button to remove the integration, all of it’s associated data on RoleUp systems, and revoke OAuth permissions.
  4. If you wish to reinstall the Zendesk integration at a later time, just add the integration back and everything should return to how it was after the accounts are synced.